Below is the simple snapshot which is taken from the view source of SharePoint 2010 Publishing site template.
Once we are done with SharePoint site migration[to SharePoint 2010], you will see the same layout and UI as previous site [SharePoint 2007]. The UI is not really migrated to the SharePoint 2010 UI [V4]. So, what to do to migrate UI too to SharePoint 2010 format?
Now, you can see a new item in the site actions menu named "Visual Upgrade" as shown below.
- Here, the option 1 means, display the same UI as the v3 UI. i.e. Your SharePoint 2007 UI.
- Option 2 is, Preview the site in V4 mode, but, don't save it permanently. So that you have chance to take a look at the site in V4 mode and if you think UI is not well formatted then revert the changes back to V3.
- Option 3 is, Permanently change the UI to V4 mode. If you select this, then you can't change the UI back to V3 mode and the option "Visual Upgrade" under site actions will go away.